Category Archives: news

Diversion under the M6

ROUTE DIVERSION TO AVOID BRIDGE CLOSURE OVER M6

January 2018 – September 2018

We have been notified of the closure of a bridge over the M6 on the Staffordshire/Cheshire border – here are details for an alternative route.Alternative routes for both directions are as follows, with a reference to the Guidebook page number:

NORTH TO SOUTH:  Page 53.” Cross a field and then turn right” now needs to read, Cross a field and at the road turn left, walk along the road and after passing Knowle End cross over a stile on the right. Follow way mark arrows through two fields and cross a stream, bear left , follow this footpath over stiles to an underpass under the M6. Continue to follow the way mark arrows until a road is reached. Turn left, cross over the road to a stile on the right. At this point you have rejoined route of The Two Saints Way.

SOUTH TO NORTH: Page 134 ” When you come out onto a road, turn left ” this now needs to continue as, ” and then cross over a stile on the right. Keeping the hedge on the right continue over a stream to an underpass under the M6. Follow this footpath over the stream again, continue through two fields to a road near Knowle End. Turn left, walk along the road to a finger post on the right. At this point you have rejoined The Two Saints Way.

SaveSave

SaveSave

Trentham Estate Temporary Diversion

The path through Monument Wood in the Trentham Estate is temporarily closed (due to four sheep being killed on the estate by dogs off leads in one week in October).
Trentham Estate advise that the route around the west of the gardens is still accessible:
“The only part of the route which is closed is the permissive path through Monument Wood so it’s not such a significant diversion to the route as the route past the Monkey Forest, through Spring Valley and Kings Wood to North Park remains open.”
We hope that the issue is resolved and there are no further problems with dogs in the area, and the path past the Monument can be restored.

Local Co-ordinators

Two Saints Way have a team of volunteer local co-ordinators – their role is to oversee the section of the route in their locality, making sure the footpaths are clear and the signs are still in place.  If you have any concerns or comments about sections of the path then do contact one of our co-ordinators:

Chester: Catherine Green catherine.green@care4free.net and Lyn Collins lyn.collins@live.co.uk – From Chester to the boundary with Cheshire East between Beeston and Bunbury

Nantwich: Nigel Winzer nigel.winzer@btinternet.com with raybetmor@hotmail.co.uk – From Bunbury to the M6 near Barthomley

Stoke-on-Trent: Marg Hardcastle marg.twosaintsway@gmail.com –  From M6 near Audley to Trentham – including the route through Stoke.

Stone: Paul Graetz paulandberyl@tesco.net – From Salt to Stoke Minster

Stafford: Peter Graysmith petergraysmith@berkswich.org.uk – From Salt to Marquis Drive

Lichfield: Lilas Rawling lilas.rawling@gmail.com with Angela Bickley angela.bickley49@yahoo.co.uk from Marquis Drive to Lichfield